Some things I make for the love of others like cupcakes, but other things I make because I’m a selfish hungry girl, like these Empanadas. Oh my God! These empanadas I made because I’m a selfish girl who loves loves loves empanadas.

Empanadas are popular party food or merienda in the Philippines. (Empanada traces their origins to Galicia and Portugal. This dish was carried to Latin America and Philippines by Spanish colonizers) so much about history, I should move on…

I’ve been craving Empanada since I moved here in the US, I did find it in Asian and Latin stores but the filling is either chicken, beef or chorizo. This morning, I woke up at 5:00 AM tip-toed out of my bedroom so I won’t wake up my sleeping hubby. I am making these puppies and I will not fail.
INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup vegetable shortening I used Earth Balance butter
2 pounds onions, diced
1 1/2 tablespoons chopped shallots
1 tablespoon chopped garlic
2 tablespoon tomato paste
3 tablespoons chopped  red peppers
3 tablespoons raisins

1 1/2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley leaves
2 tablespoons chardonnay wine
1 tablespoon vegetable stock
4 ounces portobello mushrooms, chopped
4 ounces carrots, diced
4 ounces green zucchini, diced
4 ounces yellow squash, diced
4 ounces broccoli, diced


4 ounces spinach or kale

1/2 teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes
1 1/2 teaspoons paprika
1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
1 1/2 teaspoons favorites seasoning such as cajun- I used indian curry
Salt and pepper
12 Empanada dough disks
2 large egg yolks, beaten

METHOD

In a large pot, over medium heat, melt the vegetable shortening. Add the onions, shallots, and garlic and cook until they are soft but not browned.

Lower the heat and add the  tomato paste, chopped mixed green and red peppers, parsley, wine, stock, and mushrooms.

Bring a large pot of water to the boil. Add the carrots, zucchini, squash, and broccoli and cook until the vegetables are al dente. Add the mixed vegetables and  and heat through. Drain the vegetables and put them into an ice bath. When cool, drain well.

Put the vegetables back into the pot. Mix in the red pepper flakes, paprika, oregano, seasoning, raisins and salt and pepper, to taste. Refrigerate for at least an hour.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Place 1/4 cup vegetable mixture on the middle of each empanada dough disk. Avoid reaching the edges with the filling because oiliness will prevent good sealing. Slightly wet the edges, fold in half, and stick edges together. The shape should resemble a half-moon. Seal by pinching the edge between your thumb and index finger to make a curl about 5 or 6 times. Other sealing procedures like pinching without curling or using a fork to seal will not prevent the juices from leaking.

Place the finished empanadas on the cookie sheet and brush them with the egg yolk. Cook until they are golden brown, about 25 to 30 minutes.

DOUGH RECIPE:

2 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1 stick (1/2 cup) cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes

1 large egg

1/3 cup ice water

1 tablespoon distilled white vinegar

METHOD:

:Sift flour with salt into a large bowl and blend in butter with your fingertips or a pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse meal with some (roughly pea-size) butter lumps. Beat together egg, water, and vinegar in a small bowl with a fork. Add to flour mixture, stirring with fork until just incorporated. (Mixture will look shaggy.) Turn out mixture onto a lightly floured surface and gather together, then knead gently with heel of your hand once or twice, just enough to bring dough together. Form dough into a flat rectangle and chill, wrapped in plastic wrap, at least 1 hour.

I shared these empanadas with my hubby…he loved it (I guess I’m not that selfish, not at all)

